Our story

2017 marks Harmony House’s 30th anniversary

History

Harmony House opened in 1987 in response to a need for safe, longer-term housing and support for abused women and their children fleeing violent situations. This need was originally identified in a five-year study of community social needs in Ottawa undertaken by the Social Planning Council. St. Matthew’s Anglican Church, which was looking to undertake a major social outreach program at the time, took on this ambitious project and brought Harmony House into existence.

Our impact

Since January 1987, Harmony House has provided safe shelter and support to women and children and have also provided ongoing support to hundreds of ex-residents. Harmony House continues to see examples of the success of its programs in the achievement of women who complete training programs and re-enter the workforce and who re-establish safe and secure family lives with their children.

This success is seen in the children who are able to grow up in homes where violence is no longer a feature of their daily lives. These children are now able to excel in school and to enjoy living normal, fun lives – the right of every child.

The Amazing Brain: Trauma and the Potential for Healing

Resilience and recovery

…but prevention is best.

ONE Child is TOO many

Annual Admissions Women Children

“Children exposed to family violence show the same pattern of activity in their brains (PTSD) as soldiers exposed to combat.”

Mail

Harmony House
P.O. Box 57082
Somerset Postal Office
Ottawa, ON
K1R 1A1
Canada

Phone

613-233-3386

Fax

613-567-1707

Email

General Inquiries
info@harmonyhousews.com

Executive Director
director@harmonyhousews.com

President, Board of Directors
president@harmonyhousews.com

Donations
donations@harmonyhousews.com

Manager, Fund Development
fundraising@harmonyhousews.com

Administrator
administration@harmonyhousews.com

Outreach & Accessibility Worker
outreach@harmonyhousews.com

Family Support Worker
familyprograms@harmonyhousews.com

Foodbank Coordinator
environment@harmonyhousews.com

Housing Support Worker
housing@harmonyhousews.com

Safety and Environment Coordinator
environment@harmonyhousews.com

Women's Advocate
womensadvocate@harmonyhousews.com

Volunteer Coordinator
harmonyhousewsvolunteer@gmail.com

Harmony House ® Charity

BN #: 886420199RR000
Shares
Share This